Unhealthy Attachments to the Internet

There is no doubt that we live in a digital world that is increasing every day. Think about this for a second:

1. We didn’t have Facebook or Twitter when we were growing up.

2. We didn’t blog and as a matter of fact, we didn’t even know what a blog was.

3. I don’t think many of us even thought that such a thing as YouTube (being able to record yourself and make it available for the world to see) could even exist unless we became famous and people saw us on television.

4. Some of us probably thought that when Myspace seemed to fade out, that it would be the end of such things.

And that is just the surface of all the ways you can communicate and interact online.

Having said all of the above, I recently read an article titled “Kids and Technology: “How the Parenting Relationship Affects Their Internet Usage” and it prompted me to write this post. The article points out that a study shows that “young adults with an “unhealthy attachment to Internet use” more commonly recall their parents as unaffectionate or neglectful.” Yes, you read that right “young adults with an “unhealthy attachment to Internet use” more commonly recall their parents as unaffectionate or neglectful.” Is this true?

In my house, I know there are times when both my wife and I will be on our cell phones (does anyone still use a land-line phone?) or our laptops as our children are playing or I will often work while my kids are playing. Having said that, I am not trying to imply that there is something wrong with doing that but at the same time, this article has opened my eyes a little bit.

Instead of jumping on my laptop to write a blog post when it pops into my mind, I am going to write my thoughts down on paper and encourage my kids to write along with me. Now they can write anything they want or even draw but my point in doing this is that it will allow for engagement between my kids and I, allow us to spend time together, and even get their creative thoughts flowing.

Instead of jumping on twitter, facebook, google+, or another social media site that can be easily accessed on my cell phone and takes up so little of my time (at least that’s what I tell myself lol), I am going to set times during the day to do these things when my kids are having play time with each other or napping.

All-in-all, I am going to set some limits because nothing is more important than family time. Not money, not my job title, not the number of people that like me, etc. The most important job that I have is raising my kids to be successful and productive members of society. I want to encourage you to read this article:

And think about if you can make some changes in the amount of time you spend on your laptops/desktops or cell phones.

Remember, the most important job that you have is being a great and involved parent! Don’t let money or status come in between raising your children. Faith and family is what it’s all about! Just my two cents and I’m sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

